

1200 New Jersey Ave., SE Washington, DC 20590

December 20, 2024

In Reply Refer To: HEPN-30

Mr. Joel Jundt Secretary South Dakota Department of Transportation Becker-Hansen Building 700 East Broadway Avenue Pierre, SD 57501

Subject: Approval of South Dakota Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Deployment Plan

Dear Secretary Jundt:

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) has completed the review of the South Dakota Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Deployment Plan required under the National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Formula Program.¹ Based on the review and the recommendations provided by the Joint Office of Energy and Transportation (Joint Office), FHWA has determined that the South Dakota Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Deployment Plan is approved for implementation. With this approval, Fiscal Year 2025 funds are now available to South Dakota for obligation.

The FHWA and the Joint Office will follow up with States on specific opportunities for improvement in future year plans and will continue to provide technical assistance and guidance as States continue implementation.

A publicly accessible version of the South Dakota Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Deployment Plan should be posted to the South Dakota Department of Transportation's (DOT) website. This approval letter will be available on the FHWA website at https://www.fhwa.dot.gov/environment/nevi/ev_deployment_plans/ along with a link to the State

https://www.thwa.dot.gov/environment/nevi/ev_deployment_plans/ along with a link to the State DOT website.

¹ The NEVI program is authorized under the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law, enacted as the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA), (Pub. L. 117-58)

Thank you for putting the United States on a path to a nationwide network of EV chargers that can ensure a convenient, affordable, reliable, and equitable charging experience for all users.

Sincerely,

Emily Biondi

Emily Biondi Associate Administrator Office of Planning, Environment and Realty

cc: FHWA: HOA, HCC, HPL, HCF, South Dakota Division Office Joint Office Director: Gabe Klein